Hold That Kiss

Distant desire spread across my body

like you low and ablaze

lost in this maze

over you

Tangled in laughter and tears had me searching anew

Every lost chance I took

Was taken for you

Taken for you

 

Daylight darkened to night

My plans were your plans

Or maybe we both lost our sight

What we imagined if nothing was better than this

I held your heart and you held that kiss

you held that kiss

hold that kiss

 

(Chorus)

I think about you when nights get long

I dream about you

pick up this guitar and put down a song

I sing about you

whenever you’re too far or gone

calling your memory closer so I can be strong

 

Intimate child no longer covets dark clouds

Stormy surrenders and screaming “I love you” out loud

Your shadows are dimming like sunsets covered by shrouds

Time just consumed us like losers lost in a crowd

 

Every lost chance I took was taken for you

Every lost moment inside you was tight on me too

I waited for time to show me your way

I stared into deepening passion day after day

 

I think about you when nights get long

I dream about you

pick up this guitar and put down a song

I sing about you

whenever you’re too far or gone

calling your memory closer so I can be strong

 

 

Waves break a high-tide that’s salty like you

Reflections are carried by warm winds of truth

Nobody knew how I cried when we parted for bad

I disappeared into your gusty sadness we had

 

I think about you when nights get carried out long

I dream about you I pick up this guitar and song

I sing about you whenever you’re too far or gone

I call your memory closer so I can be strong

 

What we imagined was nothing better than this

I held your heart and you held that kiss

Hold that kiss

hold that kiss

hold that kiss

About memoirpoet

I've been faking it as a writer for more than 30 years. Keep that low.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

