Showing Off Society

In a local club

I saw her sitting there

with quite permed Revlon hair

blonde and blowin’

on her deep brown skin

showin’ off society

 

Showin’ off society

I once had class, too

I thought class was all me

but she was showin’ off society

 

In a social status pub

sittin’ with a friend

he’s got a down-home grin

as we’re lookin’ at what’s left

of dark brown skin

showin’ off society

 

Showin’ off society

I once had class, too

I thought class was all me

but she was showin’ off society

 

Do we dare disturb this desert heat?

Shouldn’t we yank her to the dancefloor from that throne?

Blonde and blowin’,

showin’ off society

showin’ off society

 

Showin’ off society

I once had class, too

I thought class was all me

but she was showing off society

 

Money never bought a soul that rests

a show of love stripping off her mega-dollar dress

not a deeper show of lifeless apathy

baby’s showin’ off

she’s showin off

lady’s showin off

society

About memoirpoet

I've been faking it as a writer for more than 30 years. Keep that low.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Showing Off Society

  1. Pingback: Showing Off Society | Memoirs and Poems

Leave a Reply

