Thinking You Can

Every day I wake up with a song

and a prayer for the plight of the living

Every night I struggle to keep that faith

Lost in my lonely forgiving

 

I’ll admit all the broken plans

If you’d come back for a moment and just hold my hand

Brush my tears and take this pain

Give it up like you did – again

Give it up like you did again

 

Sometimes it seemed like life was too long

Then I had to wish a ciao to my brother

I can recall what the days were about

When I scattered those ashes of mother

Too sad about my sister and dad

 

I’ll admit all the broken plans

If you’d come back for a moment and just hold my hand

Brush my tears and take this pain

Give it up like you did – again

Give it up like you did again

 

 

I called your name

cries echoing into a wind

I’ve called your name and seen your face

until chilly gusts blow it away again

 

I’ll admit all the broken plans

If you’d come back for just this moment and hold my hand

Brush my tears and take this pain

Give it up like you did – again

And I think you can

I think you can

About memoirpoet

I've been faking it as a writer for more than 30 years. Keep that low.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

