Your Blood and My Teardrops

I was thinking about the way you left this place

I was remembering the anguish slowly growing on your face

Last night about 4 a.m.

I felt your blood and my teardrops blend

Before I could make the nightmare end – I don’t want to die that way

 

I was thinking back 10 years or so

It doesn’t seem that long ago

You were living, I was young

No problems, life seemed fun

 

How come you never mentioned this day?

Ahh, Daddy, I don’t want to die that way

Did you finally reach the goal?

Is there light at the end of that tunnel?

One bridge we all cross alone,

Like migrant workers trying to sneak back home

 

But last night about 4 a.m.

I felt your blood and my teardrops blend

Before I could make the nightmare end

Oh, Lord, I don’t want to die that way

 

I ripped the page from the wall calendar

I felt your hand grow cold in mine

You didn’t look at peace to me

The doctor closed your eyes so you couldn’t see

Tears pouring right here from my face

At some point there’s no sympathy, no disgrace

Nothing now you can erase

 

Though last night about 4 a.m.

I felt your blood and my teardrops blend

I’m screaming out because I can’t pretend, Daddy

I don’t want to die that way

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

