Paradigm Shift

Paradigm shift

 and quick now

like a wink from an escape artist

the kind

with dyed black hair and dark eye shadow

so deep her eyes fade then invade into heart.

 

I need a change

like that forever tearful night in Georgetown

lifetimes ago

when I wrote on the back of that napkin

 a poem

the kind

where lonely as I am tonight

I depended on your love – on you.

 

Perhaps

is one word I rarely use

as night is the color

of alone and black

is a hue of not-perhaps

the kind

defined and definite sans new opportunity

fends away fear

offering a last chance.

 

I am and was

the kind

who became one-tenth the man I could have become

which is more than less

but this is not over yet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

