Nadine

This was my nurse, Nadine. And, unbeknownst to me at the time, this is what she wrote about me.

Nadine is an angel in human form. I have the deepest, truest, love and respect for her, my other caregivers, doctors, surgeons, and the countless people who prayed me back into existence.

As an aside, Nadine actually saved my life one evening. I was so uncomfortable with 4-6 lines or monitors going into or attached to both arms 24/7, that I yanked one. Blood started to spurt out in pulses as it was a live line into an artery.

Within seconds, my sheets were bright red and covered in blood – looking like I had been shot or stabbed in my heart. Nadine heard my scream for help. Came in and calmly got that problem under control.

Now in Nadine’s own words for the Temple medical magazine:

No photo description available.

Temple HealthodSrseotpn89gl1h0 g74809064t211uaui4atf50l6y,603cJ85f f26354  · “I questioned my decision to become a nurse all the way through nursing school, but once I stepped foot in the hospital I couldn’t imagine doing anything else. I don’t think I could get the satisfaction I get from any other profession. As a nurse I’m able to develop intimate relationships with my patients and advocate for them. The right treatment isn’t always what is easiest or fastest. Being the voice of patient care, especially in an underserved population, is extremely rewarding. I recently had a patient who was in our unit for about three months. Due to the severity of his illness, he wasn’t expected to thrive. He was also a bit difficult and frequently agitated, but because I was always patient with him, I was often assigned to care for him. By the end of his time on our unit he was looking quite scruffy. My colleague and I took the time to give him a shave and a haircut, carefully supporting his head to avoid getting hair in his tracheostomy. The patient was so touched he began crying when we finished. A few days later when I visited him, we shared a cupcake and he held my hand and thanked me for always being there for him even when he was hard on me. It was amazing to be able to provide the care and compassion he needed and see him make a full recovery.”– Nadine Kazzaz, BSN, RN, CCRN, works in the Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit at Temple University Hospital. She is just one of the hundreds of Temple nurses who helped the hospital achieve Magnet status.Learn more about what Magnet status means for Temple and our patients: http://bit.ly/2Jq5AJS

About memoirpoet

I've been faking it as a writer for more than 40 years. Keep that very low. ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment